top of page
  • Writer's pictureDebbie L Davis

He Restores

Updated: Apr 21, 2018

I've been writing gospel songs for over 30 years, many of those years for my own group, Full Life Trio. But, around 2010 I decided it was time to start writing for other groups. I went a few years and didn't really have any idea on how to improve on my writing or how to pitch songs to other groups.


In 2014, I attended my first Write About Jesus Conference. It was life-changing for my songwriting life!I learned so much about not only improving my songwriting, but also about networking, getting demos, co-writing and so much more. While there, I met Belinda Smith.


In 2015, I took a 6-week mentorship course with Belinda. She pushed me to be a better writer (and she still does). During the 6-week course, Belinda gave us, her mentees, an assignment. She had met a lady, Mary, who was estranged from her daughter and wasn't allowed to be a part of her life or her grandchild's life. The lady was hurting and broken. Belinda asked us if we could write a song specifically for that broken, wounded women..... what would we say to her through song?


When I read the assignment, I immediately said, "He restores... I would tell her that He restores". So, over the next few days, I poured into this assignment, and the song "He Restores" was born.


(Update on Mary, who was the inspiration behind the song. She passed away from cancer a while back, but before she died, her relationship with her daughter was restored!)


When I decided I wanted to share the song with other groups, I knew I needed a professional demo. At that time, I didn't have any idea how to go about getting that kind of demo done. I reached out to my facebook friend John Mathis Jr, and he put me in touch with Tony Griffith of The Griffith Family.


To make this very long story a bit shorter, let me just say that the day Tony sent me the demo back, he also called me. He said that him and his wife Julie have a family group and they're going to be going into the studio soon. He said that He Restores is their testimony song, and they want to record it!! The rest is history. I had the opportunity to hear The Griffith Family for the first time shortly after they recorded He Restores. Below is the video my husband captured that evening (I was so emotionally moved that I couldn't hold the phone, so I'm glad hubby caught it on camera for me!). I'm so thankful to Tony, Julie, and Amber for being the first of many to record songs that I've written.




So, my very first professional demo also became my very first cut (other than my own trio).


God sure does work in mysterious ways!


Over the last two years, Tony & Julie have become dear friends of mine. Tony also produced my trio's latest recording project back in 2016. Here are a few pics we've taken over the last 2 years.





Until next time,

Debbie L Davis

One Blessed Chicky

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page